MINUTES OF A JOINT MEETING OF EXECUTIVE, COMMITTEES, SUB-COMMITTEES AND PANELS HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, WALLFIELDS, HERTFORD ON WEDNESDAY 10 MAY 2017, AT 8.19 PM

Councillor J Jones (Chairman) PRESENT: Councillors D Abbott, A Alder, M Allen, D Andrews, P Ballam, P Boylan, R Brunton, E Buckmaster, S Bull, M Casey, Mrs R Cheswright, S Cousins, K Crofton, G Cutting, B Deering, I Devonshire, H Drake, M Freeman, J Goodeve, B Harris-Quinney, L Haysey, R Henson, Mrs D Hollebon, G Jones, J Kaye, P Kenealy, G McAndrew, M McMullen, P Moore, D Oldridge, T Page, P Phillips, M Pope, L Radford, S Reed, P Ruffles, S Rutland-Barsby, C Snowdon, R Standley, M Stevenson, T Stowe, N Symonds, K Warnell, G Williamson, C Woodward and J Wyllie.

OFFICERS IN ATTENDANCE:

Martin Ibrahim	-	Democratic Services Team Leader
Lorraine Kirk	-	Senior Communications Officer
Helen Standen Alison Stuart	-	Director Head of Legal and Democratic Services
Adele Taylor Liz Watts	-	Director Chief Executive

18 <u>APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN</u>

It was moved and seconded that Councillor J Jones be appointed Chairman for this meeting.

> <u>RESOLVED</u> - that Councillor J Jones be appointed Chairman for this meeting.

19 <u>MINUTES</u>

<u>RESOLVED</u> – that the Minutes of the joint meeting of the Executive, committees, sub-committees and panels held on 18 May 2016, be agreed and signed by the Chairman as a correct record.

20 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMEN AND ESTABLISHMENT OF SUB-COMMITTEES, PANELS, ETC

The Head of Legal and Democratic Services submitted a report seeking approval for the appointment of Chairmen to Committees set up by Council at its Annual meeting on 10 May 2017 and the establishment of sub-committees and panels. It was noted that the appointment of Vice-Chairmen would be dealt with at the next meetings of the relevant committees.

The joint meeting noted the nominations of the political group to the seats on sub-committees and panels as detailed in the report now submitted and approved the recommendations as now detailed.

> <u>RESOLVED</u> – that (A) the following Sub-Committees and Panels be appointed, with the number of voting Members stated:

Sub-Committee/Panel	No. of Members
Licensing Sub-Committee	3
Standards Sub-Committee	4
Local Joint Panel	8

С

(4 Members of the Council and 4 representatives of employees drawn from UNISON with substitutes)

District Planning Executive Panel 3

(B) seats on Sub-Committees and Panels, where relevant, be allocated to the sole political group on the Council;

С

(C) as a consequence of the decisions at (A) - (B) above, the membership of Sub-Committees and Panels be as set out in Essential Reference Paper 'B', with, where appropriate, Members being appointed in accordance with the wishes of the political group to whom the seats on these bodies have been allocated;

(D) the Members detailed at Essential Reference Paper 'C', be appointed as Chairmen (and where specified, Vice-Chairmen) of the bodies detailed;

(E) the Head of Legal and Democratic Services be authorised to make changes in the standing membership of committees and joint committees in (A) above, in accordance with the wishes of the political group to whom seats on these bodies have been allocated; and

(F) Chairmen of committees now abolished, be authorised to approve as a correct record, the Minutes of their final meeting.

The meeting closed at 8.20 pm

Chairman	
Date	
1	